Fairy Lights

Processed with VSCO with v6 preset

When I decided to take photography a bit more seriously I started watching a ton of photography tutorials on YouTube. I stumbled on the channel Mango Street, and I highly recommend their easy-to-follow videos; I also find them very soothing with the music, voiceovers, and muted colour palette.

They recently uploaded a video tutorial, “How To Shoot and Edit Like Brandon Woelfel“. At that point I had no idea who this photographer was, but then I checked out his Instagram and have since fallen in love with his shots. I love how they’re all filled with colour but not overwhelmingly so, and there are so much dynamic energy in each shot. He also makes use of unorthodox light in his shoots – neon lights, sparklers, and of course, fairy lights. It sounded like an inexpensive way to try out a new style of photography, so I bought some copper fairylights from Carousell quickly after.

When shooting this I was a little nervous about how everything would turn out –  I was mostly nervous that I would end up looking like I was just copying a famous photographer. No chance of that though, haha. I realised that as much as I love Woelfel’s aesthetic, when adjusting the photos I really liked playing with silhouettes and shadows, and how the lights would show only slices of skin.

I would have liked to have a bit more motion in each of my shots but since I was shooting in near darkness it was really hard to get them the way I wanted – hair whipping around, lights dancing. I tried slower shutter speeds but I just wasn’t a fan of the effect. Languid posing it was, then.

Processed with VSCO with v7 preset

Processed with VSCO with v7 preset

Processed with VSCO with v6 preset

Processed with VSCO with v7 preset

Processed with VSCO with v5 preset

Processed with VSCO with v6 preset

As always, everything is lazily edited on VSCO on my phone.

Fairy Lights

Leave a Reply

